Frequently Asked Questions

Disabled Person Parking Permits

What are the types of Disabled Person Parking Permits?


  • Permanent: The four year disabled person parking permit (blue) expires on the disabled person's birthday four (4) years after it was issued.
  • Temporary: A person whose disability is temporary may qualify for a temporary disabled person parking permit (red) issued for six months or less.




How do I get a Disabled Person Parking Permit? Or how do I renew my Disabled Person Parking Permit?


Any person applying for a new permit or renewing their disabled person parking permit must provide form HSMV 83039, Application for Disabled Person Parking Permit, completed and signed by a certifying medical authority. The certifying medical authority must sign within 12 months prior to submitting the application. In addition to the completed form, be sure to bring a copy of your Florida driver license or ID card. 𝗡𝗢𝗧𝗘: 𝗙𝗮𝘅𝗲𝗱 𝗼𝗿 𝗽𝗵𝗼𝘁𝗼𝗰𝗼𝗽𝗶𝗲𝗱 𝘀𝗶𝗴𝗻𝗮𝘁𝘂𝗿𝗲𝘀 (𝗮𝗽𝗽𝗹𝗶𝗰𝗮𝗻𝘁 𝗮𝗻𝗱/𝗼𝗿 𝗰𝗲𝗿𝘁𝗶𝗳𝘆𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗮𝘂𝘁𝗵𝗼𝗿𝗶𝘁𝘆) 𝗮𝗿𝗲 𝗡𝗢𝗧 𝗮𝗰𝗰𝗲𝗽𝘁𝗮𝗯𝗹𝗲.




What will be done if someone uses a family members' permit or person uses a permit that does not belong to them?


Anyone who obtains or uses a disabled person parking permit that does not belong to them can be charged with a second degree misdemeanor – $1,000 fine or up to six months in jail. Improper use of the permit costs twice the fee of a disabled parking violation. Permit holders may not loan their permits to family members. It does not matter if you are running an errand for the person with a disability. If the person with a disability is not present, the fine is $1,000.




Who will enforce the disabled parking spaces?


Law enforcement officers, parking enforcement specialists and the owner or lessee of the space that finds a vehicle in violation may enforce parking restrictions or have the vehicle towed. Law enforcement officers or enforcement specialists have the option of writing a ticket for the violation. All violations will be recorded by the local clerk and submitted to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The courts may assess penalties on drivers who violate parking permit restrictions.




Who can use it?


  • Must only be used by the permit holder. The permit holder must have their Florida driver license or ID card and the permit registration on-hand when using the permit.
  • The disabled person parking permit may be used in any vehicle transporting a disabled person to whom the permit was issued.
  • Permits are registered to the person, not the vehicle.




Where should I display my disabled parking permit?


The following are the expectations for the proper display of a temporary or permanent disabled parking permit:

  • Hang the permit from your rear view mirror
  • Hang the permit so the expiration date may be seen from outside your car
  • Do not lay the permit on the dashboard when you are parking.
  • Remove the permit before driving. Do not leave it hanging so that it might obstruct your view.




What does your florida disabled parking permit allow you to do?


The disabled parking permit, whether permanent or temporary, allows you the following special privileges:

  • You may park in specially marked handicapped parking spaces.
  • You may park for free at parking meters, for up to four hours.
  • You may still be charged a parking fee at certain parking lots used for entertainment, such as convention centers or sports arenas.
  • An airport may charge for extended parking.





HOV

What cars qualify for High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) decal and registration? What are the requirements for HOV decal and registration?


To qualify for a High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Registration and Decal, the motor vehicle must be titled as an Inherently Low-Emission Vehicle (ILEV) or Hybrid vehicles. ILEV or Hybrid vehicles are certified and labeled in accordance with federal regulations. ILEV and hybrid vehicles may be driven in HOV lanes at any time, regardless of their occupancy.




Where do I display the HOV decal?


The HOV decal is placed on the lower right-hand side of the rear window.




How long does HOV decal last?


HOV decals may be renewed for one or two years. The registration period will remain the same as the vehicle’s existing license plate number.




What should I do with my HOV decal if I sell my vehicle?


HOV registrations and decals are not transferable. When the vehicle is sold, the HOV decal MUST be removed.




What about the HOV colors?


Each year is a different color. Florida HOV sticker colors cycle every 4 years:

  • Stickers that expire during 2016 are Red
  • Stickers that expire during 2017 are Blue
  • Stickers that expire during 2018 are Orange
  • Stickers that expire during 2019 are Green





Registration

What happens if I sell my car before my 2-years renewal is due?


Simple. You can transfer the registration and plate to your new car as long as it has not expired. If you are not purchasing a new vehicle, you must cancel your registration and surrender your license plate.




What is a Vehicle Registration?


A Vehicle Registration is evidence of having paid the registration tax and fees on a motor vehicle. It consists of a metal license plate, a validation decal, and a registration certificate.




What is the difference between a Car Title and a Car Registration?


A car title deals with the ownership aspect of your car and tells the state who the owner is and what liens are on the vehicle, just like a warranty deed or mortgage filing with your county for your home. A car title looks like a warranty certificate. But your vehicle registration on the other hand is linked with the license plates on your car. The registration provides revenue for your state and a valid non-expired plate is evidence that you are current on your registration fees.




Does my registration expire on my birthday or the end of my birth month?


Registrations issued in the name of an individual expire at midnight on the day of their birth date, except for mobile homes and commercial vehicles. Mobile homes expire at midnight on the last day of the month of December. Registration issued in a company name are assigned a designated month and the registration expires at midnight on the last day of that month.




Do I need to carry my Vehicle Registration?


If the license plate is not registered to a replacement vehicle, the license plate must be turned in to a local office to prevent a driver license suspension.




Do I have to change the name on my Vehicle Registration and the Certificate of Title when I marry or divorce?


The name can be changed on our database after your driver license has been changed. This will change your name on the registration, however, the printed title will still have your previous name unless a new title is applied for.




Why didn't I get my renewal notice this year as I have for the past several years?


Although Florida Statutes do not require that the department provide renewal notices for motor vehicle registration, notices are provided as a courtesy. A county may elect to not send a renewal notice to its residents. Even if a notice is sent to the customer, the notice may get lost in the mail.




Can anyone renew my license plate for me?


Yes, however, the individual renewing your license plate must provide proof of insurance, a copy of your current registration or a renewal notice, and the proper fees.




What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?


To renew car registration, you will need:

  • Your renewal notice or current registration.
  • Your driver’s license.
  • Florida proof of insurance for your vehicle.




How exactly do I register my vehicle?


To register your vehicle, you will need to provide the vehicle’s original title, proof of Florida Insurance, your driver license and Bill of sale to either the local DMV or the Tag & Title Agency.




What happens if I move out of Florida before my 2-years registration renewal expires?


No refunds are issued. You must cancel your registration and surrender your license plate.




How do I register a vehicle that I purchased from car dealership?


If you purchase a car from an auto dealership, they will handle the work for you. Note that your dealer must transfer the title and registration within a 30-day window which is stated by law. Be cooperative and work together to make the process go smoothly.




What documents are needed to register a vehicle in Florida?


You'll need your driver license, original Certificate of Title, proof of insurance (Florida Auto Policy), Registration/Bill of sale and Florida license plate (if applicable).




What paperwork do I need to bring to register a Trailer?


  • If the trailer is bought 𝐛𝐫𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐧𝐞𝐰, you will need to bring a manufactures statement of origin, bill of sale/invoice from the seller and taxes will be collected if applicable.
  • If the trailer is bought 𝐮𝐬𝐞𝐝, you will need to bring sellers registration/title and a bill of sale.
  • If your trailer is 𝐡𝐨𝐦𝐞 𝐦𝐚𝐝𝐞 you will have to weight the trailer at a certified weight station and a letter stating what is the trailer made of.




How can I check when my registration expires?


On your current Florida Vehicle Registration the expiration date is located on the middle right hand side of your registration.




Can I renew my registration with a suspended driver license?


The simple answer is no. Any suspension will have to be resolved before you can renew your Florida Vehicle Registration.




What do I do If I lost my Tag or Decals or Registration?


If your tag and/or decal has been lost or stolen, you must contact your local law enforcement agency to report the loss or theft prior to applying for a replacement.




What do I need to transfer my out-of-state vehicle?


Florida law requires a vehicle to be registered within 30 days if the owner becomes employed, places children in school or establishes residency. You will need:

  • A valid Florida or out-of-state driver's license.
  • Original Title.
  • Proof of Florida insurance.
  • Sales Tax - If your Title was issued less than six months ago, bring the bill of sale or invoice. Florida sales tax may apply.
If you don't physically have your out of state title due to it being held by a lienholder, then you will have to contact the DMV or a Tag & Title Agency to have the lienholder send the title.





License Plate

Can I transfer my existing Florida license plate to a new vehicle?


Yes. If you can provide proof that the vehicle from which you are taking the plate was in your name, and has been traded, sold or disposed of, Initial Registration fee may be waived.




Can I give my license plate to someone else?


No, a license plate cannot be given or transferred to someone else. Section 320.0609(1)(a), Florida Statutes, requires that the registration, license plate and certificate of registration shall be issued to and remain in the name of the owner of the vehicle registered.




Do I have to turn in my license plate when I sell my car?


If the license plate is not registered to a replacement vehicle, the license plate must be turned in to a local office to prevent a driver license suspension.




If I turn in my old license plate when I sell my car, do I have to pay the “new wheels on the road" fee again?


When an old license plate is turned in, the vehicle registration will be canceled. This may be used to exempt the Initial Registration fee when a replacement vehicle is registered.




What happens if I sell my car before my 2-years renewal is due?


Simple. You can transfer the registration and plate to your new car as long as it has not expired. If you are not purchasing a new vehicle, you must cancel your registration and surrender your license plate.




When do I have to get a new license plate (replacement)?


Section 320.06(1)(b), Florida Statutes, requires ten-year replacement of all license plates. The replacement is necessary because license plates must be fully reflectorized to ensure visibility for law enforcement purposes. Current, in-use plates will have their replacement date altered to reflect this new 10-year lifespan. That is, if your plate is now 3 years old, you will not be required to replace it for another 7 years.




Where do I fix the decal (yellow sticker) on the Florida license plate?


Not on the top left, not on the bottom right, not on the orange in the middle. Fix the decal in the square space provided in the upper right hand corner of the Florida license plate or just put it over the old one.




Do I need to remove my plates when I sell my car?


In a sale, license plates stay with seller not the vehicle. When motor vehicles are sold, the seller must remove the license plate from the vehicle and may then transfer the plate to a new or replacement vehicle. The seller must surrender the tag to a motor vehicle service center if: • The seller is moving to another state; or
• The seller cancels insurance on the vehicle associated with the plate.




Do I need to turn in my license plate if I move out of the state?


Yes, you do. When you move to another state, you are required to surrender your license plate in Florida.




What do I do If I lost my Tag or Decals or Registration?


If your tag and/or decal has been lost or stolen, you must contact your local law enforcement agency to report the loss or theft prior to applying for a replacement.




What do I need to transfer my out-state vehicle and get new Florida plate?


Florida law requires a vehicle to be registered within 30 days if the owner becomes employed, places children in school or establishes residency. You will need:

  • A valid Florida or out-of-state driver's license.
  • Original Title.
  • Proof of Florida insurance.
  • Sales Tax - If your Title was issued less than six months ago, bring the bill of sale or invoice. Florida sales tax may apply.
If you don't physically have your out of state title due to it being held by a lienholder, then you will have to contact the DMV or a Tag & Title Agency to have the lienholder send the title.





Title

What is a Title?


A certificate of Title is the proof of ownership to a motor vehicle in the State of Florida. Most vehicles are required to be titled. The exceptions are mopeds, motorized bicycles, and trailers weighing less than 2,000 pounds.




What is the difference between a Car Title and a Car Registration?


A Car Title deals with the ownership aspect of your car and tells the state who the owner is and what liens are on the vehicle, just like a warranty deed or mortgage filing with your county for your home. A Car Title looks like a Warranty Certificate. But your Vehicle Registration on the other hand is linked with the license plates on your car. The Registration provides revenue for your state and a valid non-expired plate is evidence that you are current on your registration fees.




How do I correctly sign my title over to someone else?


On the Title, the seller should fill in the name and address of the purchaser, the odometer information, selling price, and the date sold in. Then must sign their name in the Seller section and hand print their name (same section). The purchaser should then sign their name in the purchaser section and hand print their name in the same section. If there is a co-purchaser, they should follow the same instructions in the co-purchaser section.




What documentation is required to apply for a duplicate certificate of title when the original has been lost or destroyed?


VIN number, proof of Identity (copy of Driver’s License, Identification Card or Passport), Lien satisfaction letter (if applicable) and odometer reading.




Where can I apply for Registration and Title?


Application for Registration and Title to a motor vehicle can be made at any local DMV or Tag & Title Agencies located in each of the counties throughout Florida.




How can I transfer a car Title if I have a lien on it?


If you have a lien on your vehicle, you will need to first pay it off before you are allowed to complete a Florida car Title transfer. If the lien has been satisfied, then the lien holder will need to make mention of this on the title.




How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?


For any “transferring car title transaction” in Florida, you are required to show original documents. If you lost your car Title, you will need to request a replacement. Once you receive your new Title, the lost one will become invalid.




What if I found my Florida vehicle Title after getting a replacement?


If you find the car Title that you had lost after getting a new Florida Title replacement, contact your local DMV to keep record and follow their guidance. It doesn’t matter if your old Title has lost validation, it’s always advisable to report it to the Florida DMV.




What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?


There are several reasons to transfer a car Title. They include if you decide to:

  • Sell your car.
  • Buy a car.
  • Donate your car to charity.
  • Give your car as a present to a family member or someone else.




Can motor vehicles, mobile homes or vessels be owned by two owners?


Yes, they can have the ownership joined by either an “and” or “or”.

  • Joined by “and” - Both owners must be present or have the title certificate signed by each owner as seller in order for the title to be transferred out of their names.
  • Joined by “or” - Either owner may be present or may sign the Title and a bill of sale in order for the title to be transferred out of their names.




What are Electronic Titles?


Electronic titles, also known as e-titles, are titles stored in a large databases of the Florida DMV. Just like paper titles, electronic titles show proof of ownership and are available for all motor vehicles including passenger vehicles, trucks, commercial vehicles, vessels, RVs, motorhomes, and motorcycles. It’s important to note that you will need a paper title if you sell your vehicle to another individual. However, if you are trading your vehicle in at a dealership, you may not have to have a paper title. It all depends on the dealership’s policies.




What do I need to transfer my out-of-state Title?


Florida law requires a vehicle to be registered within 30 days if the owner becomes employed, places children in school or establishes residency. You will need:

  • A valid Florida or out-of-state driver's license.
  • Original Title.
  • Proof of Florida insurance.
  • Sales Tax - If your Title was issued less than six months ago, bring the bill of sale or invoice. Florida sales tax may apply.
If you don't physically have your out of state title due to it being held by a lienholder, then you will have to contact the DMV or a Tag & Title Agency to have the lienholder send the title.





Lien

What is a lien?


A lien is when a lienholder has a secured interest in a vehicle, mobile home or vessel in the form of a debt due to the lienholder and the lienholder’s information is placed on either a paper or electronic certificate of title in addition to the owner’s information.




Can I sell a vehicle with an existing Lien?


In Florida, a vehicle cannot be legally sold in a private sale if there is an existing lien. For the vehicle to be legally sold, the lien must first be satisfied. Once the lienholder reports to DHSMV that the lien has been satisfied, the title can be transferred.




What is an electronic lien title?


An electronic lien title (ELT) is a program that runs across various US states, including the state of Florida, allowing local DMVs to electronically exchange lien and title information with lienholders without using paper titles. When an electronic lien is satisfied, the title will then remain electronic until a request for paper title is received.




How do I remove a lien holder from a Florida title?


Once you’ve completed your car payments, your lienholder will electronically notify the Florida DMV that you are free of payments. Since Florida handles vehicle titles electronically, you can request a paper title through your local DMV office or any Tag & Title Agency or you can keep your title as electronic title and request to be print it out when you are going to sell the vehicle.




How do I transfer my out-of-state vehicle to Florida if it has a lienholder?


Florida law requires a vehicle to be registered within 30 days if the owner becomes employed, places children in school or establishes residency. You will need:

  • A valid Florida or out-of-state driver's license.
  • Original Title.
  • Proof of Florida insurance.
  • Sales Tax - If your Title was issued less than six months ago, bring the bill of sale or invoice. Florida sales tax may apply.
If you don't physically have your out of state title due to it being held by a lienholder, then you will have to contact the DMV or a Tag & Title Agency to have the lienholder send the title.





Florida Auto Insurance

I am registering a vehicle for the first time in Florida. Is automobile insurance mandatory?


Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must have Florida Auto Insurance Policy.

If it’s time for you to start shopping for car insurance, give us a call. Simplified Insurance Agency can help ensure that you sign a policy that stays within your budget and gives you all the coverage you need.




Can I register my vehicle if my insurance is from another state?


No. In Florida, a DMV requires proof of Florida Auto Insurance Policy. If it’s time for you to start shopping for car insurance, give us a call. Simplified Insurance Agency can help ensure that you sign a policy that stays within your budget and gives you all the coverage you need.




What type of insurance is required to purchase and maintain a Florida license plate and registration?


Florida's minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) as long as you have a valid Florida license plate.




What if I fail to keep insurance on my vehicle that I have registered in Florida?


The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle license plate and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first.

If it’s time for you to start shopping for car insurance, give us a call. Simplified Insurance Agency can help ensure that you sign a policy that stays within your budget and gives you all the coverage you need.




I live outside Florida for six months a year. When not in Florida, my vehicle is in storage and not used. Must I maintain Automobile Insurance?


Yes. Any vehicle holding a valid Florida License Plate and Registration must be covered by a Florida insurance policy throughout the entire registration period. When you leave Florida, you may surrender your license plate and registration at the nearest DMV or tag and Title Agency.




What can I do to avoid a driving privilege suspension when I choose not to insure a vehicle?


To avoid a driving privilege suspension, surrender the vehicle's license plate and registration at any local DMV or tag & Title Agency, prior to canceling your insurance policy.




Do I need to insure my car before I register it?


The DMV will deny your registration and license plate without proof of insurance. So, yes, you need to insure your car before you even attempt to register it.

If it’s time for you to start shopping for car insurance, give us a call. Simplified Insurance Agency can help ensure that you sign a policy that stays within your budget and gives you all the coverage you need.





Personalized and Specialty License Plate

How many characters can be on a personalized license plate?


License plates with a center logo design such as the basic Florida license plate or the Save the Manatee license plate, may have up to 7 characters plus either a space or a hyphen. License plates with a left-side logo design such as collegiate and sports license plates may have up to 5 characters with no additional space or hyphen.




Can I purchase a sample license plate of any Florida license plate?


Yes, you can. But these sample plates are not intended to be placed on vehicles driven on Florida roads.




Why do I have to pay extra every year for a specialty license plate?


The purpose of specialty license plates is to raise funds for a particular cause. The use of a specialty license plate is a voluntary purchase and can be discontinued at any time.




How to check if a personalized license plate configuration is available?


Click here to check availability of your chosen personalization.




What are the options for specialty license plate?


To view the available specialty plates, click here.